Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Vice President of Economic Development
Carter Wells is the Vice President of Economic Development for HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology. In this role, he leads the institute's economic development, operations, and technology teams...
Managing Director
Dr. Kathy Nugent serves as Managing Director for the UAB Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Dr. Nugent is a senior biotechnology executive with over 20 years of healthcare industry experience.
President / CEO
Dr. Michael Chambers is an experienced businessman, entrepreneur and attorney. He currently serves as President and CEO of Swift Biotechnology...
Cecil Bostany joined Warren Averett as a Member in the Tax Division in 2002. He is a former partner with Ernst & Young and has over 32 years of experience working with privately-owned, venture-backed and publicly-held companies...
Past President
President / CEO
Arthur J. Tipton, Ph.D. President and Chief Executive Officer Southern Research Institute Arthur J. Tipton, Ph.D. is President and CEO of Southern Research. He has worked in the pharmaceutical and biotech industry for 25 years...
President / CEO
T. Devon Laney is the President & Chief Executive Officer of Innovation Depot, Inc., the high-tech/biotech business incubator located in downtown Birmingham and recipient of the 2011 Technology Incubator of the Year Award from the National Business Incubation Association...
Dr. Dan Daly spent 17 years as Technology Manager for several Business Development Groups, for Texaco and Lubrizol where he was responsible for coordinating the marketing, patent strategy and technology development for these emerging companies...
Managing Partner of Fund Operations
Alan Dean is the Managing Partner of Fund Operations for Greer Capital Advisors. Mr. Dean brings to Greer Capital Advisors more than 20 years experience in all aspects of technology transfer, in both the non-profit and for-profit sectors...

Board of Directors

Khursheed Anwer, Ph.D., Expression Genetics

Cecil Bostany, Warren, Averett, Kimbrough & Marino

Will Brooke, Harbert Venture Partners

Joseph Burchfield, TVA

Andrew Byrd, University of South Alabama

Michael Chambers, Swift Biotech

James Childs, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings

Dan Daly, Ph.D., The University of Alabama

Alan Dean, Targeted Technology Fund

Jian Han, Ph.D.,  iRepertoire

Blair King, Alabama Power

Tom Koshut, Ph.D., University of Alabama at Huntsville

Devon Laney, Innovation Depot

Maureen Mack., HudsonAlpha Institute of Biotechnology

Richard Marchase, Ph.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham

Kathy Nugent, UAB Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Lauri Owen, University of South Alabama

Brian Pollock, Kalios Genetics

Gene Price, Burr & Forman LLP

Clay Ryan, Maynard Cooper Gale, P.C.

Peggy Sammon, GeneCapture

Marshall Schreeder, Conversant Bio

Jan Thornton, Auburn University

Art Tipton, Ph.D.,  Southern Research

Mike Walters, Kailos Genetics

Carter Wells, HudsonAlpha Institute of Biotechnology

Angela Wier,  Economics Development Partnership of Alabama